The empathy of a child

I’ve been out of commision since Friday morning on pain killers for a tooth extraction.  Normally when I am sick I still have to be mom too.  The kiddos have no idea what mommy being sick is like.  Even if their dad is home, they still want mom to do EVERYTHING for them.  For once things were different.

Every time I took the meds I would be in and out of conciousness for about 2 hours.  While I was laying on the couch J would cuddle me and watch movies.  Every time I opened my eyes Little J would want to know “You awake mommy?  you awake?”  And every time I sat up J would ask, “Is your mouth all better mommy?”

They have had their usual squabbles, but mostly when I am awake.  When I was knocked out they would play quietly or lay with me.  It was not near as bad as I was expecting.

Thank God for small miracles!

7 comments on “The empathy of a child

  1. I hope you are feeling better soon! When I had my surgery I was shocked at how well my daughter entertained herself while I slept. It is a relief when you are feeling like you can do nothing but sleep. Hugs.

Leave a Reply

