Atta Boy

First I have to say a big thank you to Marla at Marla Baltes for giving me an award.  I am very honored that not only did she give me an award but she says she looks forward to a new post every day.  (makes me feel a little guilty for not writing anything recently.)  So here it is:

 

Its the wisdom award.  I’m not sure how wise I really am but if anyone can gain anything from me putting my experiences and observations into words, I am truly honored.  I would like to pass this award on to Kristen at from here to there and back.  I love reading about her family and she has great insight into her son.

Now that we’ve gotten that out of the way, onto the post everyones been waiting for in their updated feed reader.  (What’s that? you haven’t added me to your reader yet?  Well what are you waiting for?  I’m now an award winning blog, you don’t have any excuse not to  😉  )

Last week we went out to eat, as a family.  When we left and went to get in the car, I opened the door for J and then proceeded to put the leftovers in the front seat while he climbed in.  As soon as he got into his seat he said in all seriousness, “Atta Boy!”  I started to giggle and he said, “that’s what my bus drivers say!”  He’s been picking up on many words and accents that other people say and not just movies.  about 2 weeks ago he came home with a New England accent.  The first day it was funny, now it is annoying.  More specifically he has been dropping the “R” in words like “there,” “here,” “shark,” “farm,” and “park.”  I asked his teachers about it and they said he’s been playing with a little boy from Massachusetts, so that is probably where he got it from.  If he says a word incorrectly then I say it the right way, sometimes it takes a few repetitions for him to say it correctly, but an hour later he is back to the funky accent.

By far though, the most annoying and frustrating repetition he is doing right now is me.  If I am reading a book he will repeat the last word of every page I read.  If I am talking to him he will pick out the most unusual word in a sentence and say it 3 or 4 times.  And If I am disciplining Little J, he repeats the entire sentence.  This is hard because Little J will do something if I ask/tell him to.  However, if his brother tells him what to do you can be sure that he is going to be stubborn as all get out.  So that is causing some problems.  Right now it is hard to tell if he is doing it because of echolalia (uncontrolled repeating) or if he is doing it because he is 4 and he knows it makes his brother mad.  Most days I lean towards he can’t help it.  Because even when I ask him to stop saying what I am saying he doesn’t and doesn’t even seem to notice that he is doing it.  but Little J HATES it. 

If you haven’t seen Cinderella III A Twist in Time, I highly recommend it.  We all enjoyed it, especially J.  I almost didn’t watch it because I was so disappointed with Cinderella II.  But I’m glad I gave it a chance.  Because the Fairy godmother’s wand is stolen and used throughout the movie there is a lot of “Bibity Bobity Boo!” in the movie.  J loves all things magical and most days fancies himself a wizard.  In fact when he was playing a chase game with a friend last night, the friend stopped and blocked the path and asked for the magic words.  J says very matter of factly, “Abra cadabra.”  the friend didn’t know what to do with that so he just let J by.  So now everything has to be “bibity bobity boo’d” into existence.  My mom cut J’s hair this weekend (a task that usually includes tears, but he did awesome) and then she got some hairspray to tame a cowlick.  She told him it was magic spray and he told her if it was magic she had to say “bibity bobity boo.”  she sent the spray home with me and now that it has been deemed magic it can only be used if we say the magic words.  Hey whatever works!  As long as he doesn’t use his wand and hairspray to turn his brother into a mouse we are good. 🙂

5 comments on “Atta Boy

  1. Congrats on your award! That’s cute that he’s telling himself ‘atta boy’ and picking up on accents. I can see how that would get a little irritating after a while though. It’s a cute story for later though!

  2. Cinderella Three A Twist in Time is one of M’s favorite movies. She will repeat the, “Money, Power, Revenge” and be all dramatic about it. I may have the order of the words wrong but you get the gist of it.

    So glad you like the award!

  3. Congrats on the award! I think it is very well deserved. I will have to pick up the new Cinderella movie. We had decided not to bother after the 2nd one. But it sounds like it is pretty good so… gotta get it!

Leave a Reply

