Sending an S.O.S.

Alright, for many many reasons, more than I am wanting to discuss right now, we are very seriously contemplating going wheat/gluten free for both kids.  I am scared.

If you do this/ done this:

Did you go cold turkey or wean the kids?

Any great recipies for kid friendly recognizable foods?  (J eats TONS of carbs and veggies but little else, we don’t want to end up on only veggies.  Little J eats tons of nuggets, hot dogs and dairy.  They both eat LOTS of fruit, which also may be a problem.)

Tips for affording this endeavor?

HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!

7 comments on “Sending an S.O.S.

  1. We are doing this too. But, we plan on taking our time and not being totally over the top with it. I don’t want to be obsessed about it! You know? WE can do it together!

  2. I haven’t done it, but I’m trying to wean some meat out of our diet (which involves sneaking in tofu cuz hubs would flip if I gave him obvious tofu) and I know it’s much easier to go slow – my goal overall is one meal a week to overhaul and do better with.

  3. We went cold turkey at our place… had a crazy couple of weeks where behaviours went backwards before they went forwards but we thought this would be easier in the long run. (I posted about this a few months ago on our blog.) Now J doesn’t even question what he eats… it’s become natural to him which makes life alot easier than when we first began. It’s certainly no easy task and you’ll have days where you’ll just want to give up because it all feels too hard but in the long run if you see results it’s all worth it.
    I visit GFCF Mommy’s blog regularly… she has an excellent blog with heaps of tips and recipes, and she’s really on the ball with the whole diet thing. Her research is top notch, she has heaps of links to other valuable GFCF sites and she is very knowledgeable… so I’d suggest visiting her (http://gfcfmommy.blogspot.com/).
    Good luck with it all, and let us know how things go.

  4. It’s really not as bad as I thought it would be. We started it in Dec and have seen some good results. It is difficult, don’t get me wrong. And a slip up us major set back. We actually did sort of a practice run starting a couple of month earlier. A lot of people recommend starting with one or the other, GF or CF, etc. We started by cutting out milk. Even going out to eat is not a huge deal as long as we plan ahead and take some food. I think mom and dad have lost weight too. We try not to keep any no-nos in the house, although I do have a secret poptart stash under lock and key.

    Must have books …

    http://autismparents.net/special-diets-for-special-kids-as-featured-on-oprah-larry-king-live-and-the-view/

  5. Hi, I saw your entry on my tag surfer for gluten-free. We had to go on the diet because our son has Celiac Disease. We went as cold-turkey as possible and it really was difficult at first but I just viewed it as something that HAD to be done. We’d already been down a difficult road with one of his older brothers due to a birth defect so I was in that mode.

    I’ll be honest that I cried a whole lot at first. I remember the first time I tried to bake home-made, from scratch bread (because he couldn’t stand the store-bought rice bread–he now loves it, it’s an acquired taste). I started mixing the various flours needed together and, when I got to the final one, I discovered that I had forgotten to order it. I cried the rest of the day.

    We ate out a lot. As soon as we discovered that the fries at Chick-fil-a and McDonald’s were GF, we were there nearly every day. I just couldn’t face re-teaching myself how to cook. About a year later I thought I’d finally give it a go, unfortunately I was pregnant. You should never give something like this a go when you are pregnant. lol.

    Now, we’ve been doing it at home since the beginning of January and I sure wish we’d done it sooner. Our son’s behavior improved 1000x after going GF, but there were still a few issues. It looks like they were related to all the crud in his McD’s diet. I know, I know, why am I surprised?

    Sorry for the essay but I wanted to give you the whole deal. It’s not an easy road but I swear it is worth it. So many people have just gluten sensitivities and when that is removed they improve–behavior, health, etc. I’ve noticed myself feeling much better now that we hardly have any gluten in our diet.

    A great resource for GF blogs, where you can get a ton of free recipes, is at glutenfreemommy.com. She started a GF menu swap. On Monday all who participate post their menus, then the host links to them from her blog entry. I have found so many delicious and easy to make recipes that way.

    Anyway, I hope this is somewhat of a help to you (I tend to ramble). I’ll be praying that your transition will go smoothly. If you have any questions you can leave them at my blog. We’re going away for a few, um, semi-romantic days (we’re taking all the kids & my dh will actually be working), but we’ll be back shortly.

    Sara

Leave a Reply

