And the secret ingredient is…..

CORN FLAKES!

Yes I made the nuggets.  I couldn’t let yesterday’s corn dog oil go to waste.

I nixed the rice crackers from previous attempts.  I think the nuts in the crackers were giving them an odd aftertaste.

So today I used Chicken tenders and cut them in half (the boys nayed the idea of check fingers and I was NOT cutting them up tiny like last time!)  2.5 lbs of chicken

rice flour

corn flakes blended

1 thick slice of frozen homemade bread

2 eggs + a little milk

Skillet full of vegetable oil

 

They came out really pretty unlike before.  they were light and fluffy and tasted pretty good.  Now I just need to figure out what kind of spices to add to this mix so they aren’t quite so bland.  I have to cater to both ends of the taste buds with the little guys.

 

I simultaneously (while being careful not to contaminate) made macaroni (quinoa and corn elbows) with homemade Velveeta cheese sauce.

 

The kids loved dinner and I had plenty of both to freeze for later meals.

 

Today was J’s monthly Psychiatrist appt.  Since he has had so much anxiety about the bus and it has manifested as aggression, we decided to up one of his meds.  We also made the decision to start him on Melatonin.  He has been having a really hard time getting to sleep and then staying asleep for a while now.  So far, so good.  He didn’t get out of bed once he got in tonight.  Lately he has been in and out for up to 2 hours past bed time.  then he gets up in the middle of the night and changes where he sleeps (moves to a random couch in the house.)  Then to top off the lack of sleep, he has been waking up 1-2 hours earlier than normal.  I decided to go with the time release melatonin…..I’ll let you know the results of day one tomorrow.  Too early to tell right now.

2 comments on “And the secret ingredient is…..

  1. Melatonin is wonderful. M has been on it since she was three. I use it when I can’t fall asleep. I hope you have a good result as well. I hope increasing his medications helps as well.

  2. Sorry I am commenting so much…I haven’t visited you in awhile!! Melatonin has been a godsend for us…we started TC on it about a month ago and he sleeps much better…as long as his asthma is not acting up. His teacher said he has been waay more talkative too…so all in all, it’s been a great thing!

Leave a Reply

