Cooking up a storm

Yesterday I got up early so that I could get the door when Baby A arrived.  I waited for 30 minutes and she never showed, so I called her mom.  Baby A was sick and staying home.  Well geez, what am I suppose to do now?

 

Well you would cook too wouldn’t you?  I finally got brave enough to cook up the Bob’s Red Mill GF Pancake mix that I have had in my cupboard and taken to my parents’ house and back for a couple of months now.  I am terrible at making pancake mixes.  The only pancakes that ever turn out is the recipe I got from my mom.  (If you aren’t GF/CF and want an awesome and easy recipe, let me know).  I always start by following the directions explicitly and then modify as necessary.  Well the test pancake was way too thick andjust sat like a blob in the pan so I added more milk.  The secondpancake was better, but it tasted bland.  In an effort not to add more sugar, I added a teaspoon of vanilla.  PERFECTION!  Well as perfect as a GF pancake can be 😉  I doubled the recipe so I could have plenty for the freezer.  They were a hit definitely and a dearly missed treat.

 

So while the pan was preheating and the mix was resting I took out Bob’s Red Mill GF Cinnamon Raisin Bread and dumped the necessary ingredients into the bread machine and pressed start.  4 hours later the boys were enjoying some fabulous toast.  It was the 1st thing J asked for this morning.  Raisin toast with butter was a favorite breakfast around here before the wheat free diet.  I sliced the loaf and stored all but a few slices in the freezer.  Sorry no pictures, but trust me, it looked great and the raisins that I never even saw in the mix appeared magically and plump.

 

Then because I really didn’t have much to do, I took out the 2nd half of the pizza dough I made on Friday.  What I didn’t tell you I made GF pizzas on Friday and GF Corn dogs on Sunday?  The Bob’s Red Mill Pizza crust has directions for dividing the dough in half and making two 12″ pizzas.  The babysitter made it for the kids a few weeks ago and she only made one pizza from the dough…it was fine but a little dense.  So I divided and pressed it thin into a pampered chef bar pan.  Directions say to use wet fingers, this is definitely key, andyou must keep them wet.  So the second set of dough was a challenge to remove from the plastic that I was instructed to wrap it in but I was able to pull it off by sprinkling it with rice flour to make it a little stiffer.  Pizza was great except for a few crispy cheese spots, which J refuses to eat because he thinks it is some kind of mystery topping.  It wouldn’t have gotten crispy except I got an important phone call at the same time I was suppose to take it out of the oven.  The kids ate it after J got home from school.  then I wrapped the rest in foil.  Can you guess where it went?  You are getting so good at this…  I really should try Once a Month Cooking for more than just the kids’ GF foods.

 

The Pizza Crust and Raisin Bread mixes from Bob’s Red Mill were sent with the samples I received last month.  They were easy to make, take very few ingredients, and the kid’s love them.  I guess when my pantry and freezer run out I will be buying these products.  I’ll be taking the easy way out for a while.  I am just not confident in buying all the separate flours needed to make stuff, yet.

I know several of you are curious (and possibly a little jealous) about our future school district.  I only know what I’ve heard 2nd hand, so I’ll keep you updated when we know more from personal experiences.  I can tell you this though:  This school district was one of the main reasons we decided to move off base after only being here a year.

3 comments on “Cooking up a storm

  1. Sorry I haven’t been by recently! I hope you had a wonderful Mother’s Day… and I would LOVE to have your pancake recipe from your mom. I suck at making pancakes but the kids love them……

  2. I just found your sight and have enjoyed your gf discoveries! Really excited about trying the fish coating for nuggets. I do have a question….what brand is your bread machine…I am searching for one that works well with the gf bread mixes…Thanks

Leave a Reply

