Test Kitchen

Here is one of the blogs thats been in my head and I should have written it long ago.  Just a reminder, I did get free samples from Bob’s Red Mill, but I was not asked to blog about it, nor am I being paid (besides the no-strings samples), I just want to share our GF/wheat free diet adventures.

Back in June when we were at my parents’ house for a week, I did some baking.  Once before I used the Bob’s Red Mill Brownie Mix to make cupcakes.  They were only mildly successful, as I burned the bottoms.  J still eats them though. 

So back to “Grandma and Grandpa’s” house.  J wanted to do some cooking so I promised he could help me bake a cake.  We got out the brownie mix and copied the recipefrom Bob’s Red Mill site for modifying it and got to work.  We realized though that we didn’t have the bundt pan it called for so we decided on 4-5 mini foil loaf pans left over from Christmas pumpkin bread baking.  In the end it took 5 pans.  We made it too late to taste it that night, but they smelled wonderful.  Unlike the cupcakes, which I made in paper cups, I sprayed the pans withcooking spray and then dusted with plain rice flour.  My mom has been very sensitive to and supportive of the boys’ new diet, but when it came time to grease the pans, she suggested Baker’s Joy.  Yeah we laughed about it.

 

Next morning was moving day for my sister and BIL.  I subscribe to the Bill Cosby philosophy so the boys had Chocolate Cake for breakfast.  The wife of the couple that were helping move (out of my parent’s house and into an apartment) is also wheat free so we sent a loaf with her.  Later that weekend, she said she shared it on a camping trip and no one knew the difference.  This cake is GOOD!  We finished the first pan and took one home with us.  We left the other two wrapped in foil in the freezer. 

4th of July weekend was another family BBQ/birthday party.  When we bought the family b-day cake we also bought some frosting.  Side note:  Read the ingredients on store bought icing.  I thought it was all the same sugar and milk.  NOPE.  Betty Crocker puts wheat in all of their icings.  So we went with Pilsbury.  The thawed cake was still moist and yummy.  The boys even asked for seconds.  We took the last cake loaf to a BBQ at a friend’s house on the 5th, didn’t want to deprive the boys of sweets.  🙂

 

I will be making this again, especially in the loaf pans to freeze and save for events when thee will be cake that the boys can not eat.

 

I tested a new pizza theory this past week too.  I made the usual  GF Pizza crust and then topped it with sauce and cheese.  they ate some and I froze the rest.  We get 2 pizzas out of one package of crust though.  The directions say you can store it in the fridge for a few days, but last time I did that, I couldn’t get it unstuck and spread out and it didn’t rise right.  So this time I did the pre-baking and then sliced it and froze it untopped.  Here’s the thing.  J doesn’t like it when the cheese melts into the red sauce and turns brown.  He thinks I put some kind of topping on his pizza and has a hard time believing it is just cheese and sauce.  By freezing the crust first, I can now add cool sauce and cheese to a cool crust and microwave.  The cheese stays white and he was very happy with the results last night.

This morning I made a double batch of Bob’s Red Mill Pancake Mix to celebrate the 1st day of school.  When they cool I will freeze the rest.  I also promised J that I would make Hot Dogs on a Stick (corn dogs) while he is in school so that he can have one when he gets home.

 Today or tomorrow I will also be trying a new bread recipe “Our Favorite White Bread“.  I found it on the back of Bob’s Red Mill Potato Starch package  (I ended up putting the package back though because another brand was on sale for about 1/3 of the cost but looked it up online. )  As a rule, I usually bought the kids and family, whole grain breads, but I am getting desperate.  J wants to eat sandwiches again, but our last few attempts at the Homemade Wonderful Breadhave been less than stellar.  I turned the last batch (baked in the crock-pot) into French toast and they have tolerated it, but that’s probably due to the syrup. 🙂

 

Some of you have asked if we are noticing behavior changes in the boys being on the diet.  NOPE.  But digestively, things are more on track.  I have noticed that on 2 occasions when someone gave J wheat snacks unknowingly, he had a headache and tummy ache the next day.

3 comments on “Test Kitchen

Leave a Reply

