Quick Tip

Because I am cheap but still want my kids to enjoy the foods they had before we went wheat free, I am always on the look out for new ways to make them at home.

 

I was very excited a few months back to find a cereal made by Sam’s Choice (Wal-Mart) that was corn flour and rice flour only (no oat or wheat).  They looked like crispix but tasted like Cinnamon Life.  The kids were in love.  After only buying at my mom’s wal-mart, I tried to find it at ours and couldn’t.  Then I couldn’t find it in her’s either.  Little J will eat regular crispix and corn chex.  J will not.  He craves the sweet.  I have refused so far to buy a box of Kid’s Gluten Free Cereal because it just doesn’t fit in my frugal budget.

I had been toying with the idea for a few weeks of making my own sweet cereal a la Chex Mix style.  But I didn’t want to turn the oven on to do the baking.  I’ve been mostly crockpot cooking in the AZ desert heat and only turn the oven on when absolutely necessary.

 

Last night I tried an experiment.

1 sandwich bag

Half filled with Crispix

Pam Spray

Cinnamon Sugar Mix*

 

Add cereal to bag.  Spray cereal with Pam.  Sprinkle in the Cinnamon Sugar Mix.  Close bag and shake.  Serve to one very happy child.

 

By doing it this way, I’ve eliminated all the butter that chex mix requires.

*I make my own cinnamon sugar mix that I use for Coffee Cake topping, cinnamon toast, and cinnamon french toast.

The proportions are 1tsp Cinnamon:1 Tbsp Sugar.  I keep it in the Pampered Chef Shaker to use as necessary.

 

I can not guarantee that this is “Gluten Free” since Crispix has “malt flavoring.”  But since my kids are not strictly gluten free, but wheat free, this works for us.  You could try it with Rice Chex (newly formulated to be Gluten Free).

 

I can guarantee that if your kids like sweet cereal, this will be a big hit.  J polished off the bag very quickly.

5 comments on “Quick Tip

  1. What a great idea! My nephew will eat rice chex if he has to, but I’m sure he’d just devour them with a little cinnamon sugar!

  2. Pingback: pampered chef

Leave a Reply

