Answers, FINALLY!

First off, sorry if I scared you by not updating yesterday.  I got home very late after watching a whole lineup of season premiers with hubby.  And I was emotionally worn.  I called J and he broke down weeping.  He had an awful day yesterday.  Nothing went his way and it devastated him.  He also started to miss me.  If it wasn’t enough to hear him so upset earlier in the evening (he was fine for the bed time call), it was worse the 2ndtime around when I was checking my voicemail on the way home.  He had called me before I called him, but my phone was dead.  So I listened to his sobbing call just before arriving home.  I told ya’ll I’d be heart broken by night 6.  Tonight is night 7 and I can’t wait to see them tomorrow afternoon.

So here is the update part:

Your prayers have worked.

The kidney doctor came to us in happy shock today.  He said the the ball of capillaries that filters the toxins in a kidney are in perfect condition.  If they weren’t it could mean some horrible treatments and not a good chance for full recovery.

Instead, the biopsy showed that it was just the tubules that were injured.  this is the part that leads away from the center of the kidney andfilters out the urine to send out of the body.

So it is like getting the inside of your body bruised.  it swells up and breaks some capillaries, but it eventually heals.  The doctor expects a full recovery in about a month’s time.  In the meantime Steven will stay on out patient dialysis to filter toxins from the body and be on a renal diet that is low sodium, potassium, phosphates, and fluids.

Once he urinates about a quart in one day, he should be in the clear and they will run blood tests and stop dialysis temporarily to see if his numbers continue in a downward trend.  as long as they do, they will then remove the catheter from his chest and he will be considered fully recovered.

Praise God!

Tomorrow he will re-enlist in the air force for another 4 years (yes in his hospital room) and then have his last treatment of inpatient dialysis before being discharged.  We’ll come home, pack, run and errand or two and then head to mom and dads for the weekend.  FINALLY.

7 comments on “Answers, FINALLY!

  1. You have really been through a lot. Let’s hear it for some improvements. Good news at last. I will keep sending the good thoughts your way for some rest and joy.

Leave a Reply

