First Wednesdays

For those who don’t know, I teach the Wednesday night preschool Bible class. 3 years ago I started putting a heavy emphasis on scripture memory. I teach with a multi-sensory approach using songs, pictures, signs, and repetition. As part of the program, I started making laminated cards with the memory verse on it so that they could take it home and the families could help them practice. We use the same verse for an entire month.
Every first Wednesday I add clip art to memory verses and then my bed looks like this while I make them into a long lasting card:

image

Creative mess

The final result is worth it.  These 2-5 year olds make a video for me on the last Wednesday of the month saying their verse and it never fails to hit a 10 on the cute factor. Even more rewarding is when they can say the verses months down the line when a story triggers the key words.
image

I love teaching these sponges.

Leave a Reply

