An awkward question

Yesterday J asked me out of the blue, “Mom, what is testosterone?”

Immediately I’m thinking, “uh oh.” I have no idea where this is going. I have no idea how much he already knows and what answer he is looking for. So I decide to start small. “It is a hormone that most everyone has. Usually boys have more than girls.”

At that point he interrupts me, “The bull shark has more testosterone than any other animal on earth including the elephant.”

Whew! Crisis adverted. I am so not ready for these conversations with boys.

Leave a Reply

